Our very own Mayor Felipe Antonio B. Remollo presided over the 69th General Assembly of the League of Cities of the Philippines in Quezon City and was later elected as Vice-President for the Visayas for the 3rd time by his fellow mayors.
After the elections, Mayor Remollo turned over the flag of the League of City of the Philippines to the newly-elected national President of the LCP LCP Michael Rama of Cebu (term 2022-25).
With Mayor Remollo and as witnesses are the members of the Committee on Election 3-termer Mayors Mercy Goñi of Bais City, Allan Rallon of Tangub and Chairperson Arnel Panaligan of Calapan now Congressman of Mindoro.
The League of Cities of the Philippines (LCP) is the official association of cities in the country mandated to ventilate, articulate, and crystallize issues affecting city governments and urban communities.
Accordingly, since 1988, LCP has relentlessly steered the direction of national and local policy discourse toward greater local governance, consistent with its vision to achieve genuine autonomy for local governments in the country.
Further, LCP ensures that the city’s united voices are heard by national authorities by reverberating them during legislative hearings in both Houses of Congress and other similar platforms.
As of the latest, LCP is closely engaged in monitoring and promoting cities’ welfare in different policy issues to include federalism, local fiscal autonomy, LGU conversion, and the review of the 1991 Local Government Code among others.