Some 1, 500 athletes from 31 colleges and universities converged at the City Hall Quadrangle yesterday for the formal opening of the 23rd edition of the National University Games (October 21-28).

Mayor Felipe Antonio Remollo led local dignitaries including Councilors Lilani Ramon and Michael Bandal, Sangguniang Kabataan officials headed by Federation President Danni Tolentino, UNIGAMES President Roger Banzuela and special guest Peter Cayco President of Larong Volleyball sa Pilipinas and Arellano University urged the athletes to give their best but always observe the values of a true sportsman.

Unigames convenor and Assistant City Administrator Dr. Dinno Depositario said that the athletes will compete for top honors in 5 sports events for men and women namely: basketball, volleyball, football, athletics and beach volleyball.

The participating schools to this year’s UNIGAMES are: De La Salle College of St. Benilde, University of Santo Tomas, University of Mindanao, University of the East, National University and University of the Philippines-Dilliman Adamson University, Aklan Catholic College, Arellano University, Asian College, Ateneo De Davao University, Colegio De San Agustin-Bacolod, De La Salle University-Dasmarinas, De La Salle University-Manila, Foundation University, Holy Angel University, Jose Maria College, La Carlota City College, Leyte Normal University, Negros Oriental University, Rizal Technological University, Polytechnic University of the Philippines, Saint Louis College-La Union, University of Mindanao-Davao City, University of Negros Occidental-Recoletos, University of Northern Philippines-Vigan, University of Perpetual Help System-Dalta, University of Perpetual Help System-Laguna, University of San Agustin Ilo-ilo, University of St. La Salle-Bacolod and University of Southern Philippines Foundation.

This is the 3rd straight year that the city is hosting UNIGAMES under Mayor Felipe Antonio Remollo.